Walk

st-maarten-034

I have been getting up early every morning to go walking.  I started about ten weeks after our youngest was born, so in May I will have walked about 1.75 miles every day for seventeen years.  Over the course of the last year as I have struggled with my health, it has been sheer determination and will power that has gotten me out of bed and out walking.  I am so glad I persisted despite how I have felt because I think that the consistency of it has helped me to at least not get any weaker.  I miss a few days here and there for lightening or for below zero temperatures, but my pattern is no matter where we are I make sure to get my walk.  1.75 miles does not seem like that much especially compared with some of these runners that run 8 miles a day, but figuring on the low side over the last seventeen years I have walked about 10,000 miles.  I could have walked the USA coast to coast three times.  (Just figuring that out has been amazing to me.)

Sometimes in Scripture we get long detailed accounts of a story or a person’s life.  The battle of Jericho goes into detail.  The ten plagues received a rather detailed account.  Joseph and Moses received a rather vivid portrayal of the events in their lives.  Other times, we get a quick Polaroid and are left to search out the hidden clues that are in the picture, with the only way to view the movie is to piece together what we see in the snap shot.  So is the life of Enoch. Enoch is mentioned nine times in Scripture with four of those times related to his genealogy.  Five verses with Enoch’s name and yet the details that are included make us want to pull up a chair by the fire, grab a cup of tea, and hear the rest of the story.  God does not include the “rest of the story” so we must take what we know about God and His word and apply it to the life of Enoch.

“Enoch walked with God after he fathered Methuselah 300 years and had other sons and daughters.  Thus all the days of Enoch were 365 years.  Enoch walked with God, and he was not, for God took him.” (Genesis 5:22-24)

When?  Enoch walked with God AFTER he fathered Methuselah.  He was 65 before he started walking with God.

How long?  Enoch walked with God for 300 years.

Result?  Enoch did not see death because he walked with God.

The Hebrew word, halak, not only is used for walk but also for continually and going forward.  The principle from Enoch’s life is that he went continually forward in his life side by side with God.  As we consider a journey on the path of life, God did not go ahead of Enoch nor did He go behind Enoch, rather they walked side by side on the journey of Enoch’s life.  It denotes a special relationship that takes place over the course of time.  I have this picture in my mind of Enoch eager to wake up in the morning to spend time walking with God, Enoch talking to God as he went about his daily chores, Enoch consulting and talking through with God the many decisions he had to make throughout his day.  No matter what meeting or interaction Enoch had, God was there with him as part of the interaction.

As we walk with someone through life we begin to become more like them.  Not only is there a resemblance, but also a joy in being together.  There is also a sacrifice when we spend time with God devoted to walking with Him because the time we spend with Him is taken away from something else we might rather enjoy doing.  As we begin to make this sacrifice of our wants, needs, or desires to walk with God more faithfully, it stops feeling like a sacrifice and more like the central joy of our lives.  After all Jesus has done for us, He deserves nothing less than what He created us for: relationship with Him.

According to the Westminster Catechism “the chief end of man is to love God and enjoy Him forever.”  This is all about walking with God, having a relationship with God.  It’s not putting in our time, reading our Bible and saying a quick prayer.  It’s more than that.  It is the most important relationship that pervades every aspect of our lives.

“By faith Enoch was taken up so that he should not see death, and he was not found, because God had taken him.  Now before he was taken he was commended as having pleased God.” (Hebrews 11:5).

Enoch pleased God because He walked with God.  As I have spent time in prayer every morning seeking to walk with God, I have seen sin in my life that I would have never seen if I had not changed the way I went about my time with the Lord every morning.  Relationship takes time and devotion.

As I consider the miles I have logged walking every morning over the last 17 years, I wonder if God could say I have walked just as faithfully with Him through life.  Walking with God is not a box to be checked, but rather a lifestyle to be lived.  The time that I spend with my open Bible on my knees as I kneel before my Savior has become the sweetest time of my day.  I look forward to it. It has changed me.

What would God say about your walk?

Leave a Reply

