content

Content

A state of peaceful happiness and satisfaction

 

This the fourteenth and final “word on the wall in our kitchen.”  There are many thoughts and emotions wrapped up in this word for me this morning as I sit here and write this.  Last Friday, I had to take all the words off the wall.  We are moving to Grand Rapids this summer and the realtor told me I needed to remove the words before putting our house up for sale.  We had our first showing last week, even though our house is not officially on the market, so I took the words down.

 

Everyone in our home has a range of emotions when we talk about the move.  Our youngest daughter is having the most trouble with it because it will affect her life more than her sister’s.  They both leave for college in August, but she stays home and has to find a new church, make new friends, adapt to a new skating coach, and the list could go on.  My husband is elated since he will not have to drive to Grand Rapids a few times every week.  The best label for my emotions is “content.”  I have a peace about this move, though I too will have to make new friends and find a new church to serve in.

 

I have found in this process that contentment is not something I can strive for, rather it is something that comes from my heart.  It is a steadfastness that God is orchestrating the details of my life and in the midst of change, I can trust that he will take care of the unknown.  Please know that I am going to miss my church family here in Rochester.  Since we have no family close by, they have become our family.  I am going to miss the familiarity of being in a place for 16 years, but I have moved in the past and know that the familiarity will return.  Since God is orchestrating this move, I know He has a church home for us with a new church family and a new ministry to be a part of.

 

Whenever details seem to bring worry into our home, I am quick to remember that this is God’s plan and He has the details figured out better than I.  When we moved here we looked at over 50 houses.  My poor realtor.  I was pregnant, so maybe that explains it.  With the advent of technology, we looked at many more than 50 houses online.  We only looked at five houses this time, but kept coming back to the same one in our minds.  The one that we bought has been on the market since September of 2014.  We feel like God was saving it for us.

 

When we first talked about moving 2 years ago, I held very tightly to the AWANA ministry I am a part of.  I am the director of the 3-6 grade girls and I love the interaction I have with them and the lessons I teach them each week.  I love this ministry and I love the young girls that are a part of it.  Slowly over time, God has given me a peace about leaving this ministry knowing He would have something else and someone else to minister to. One day I realized that the tight grip with which I had held onto this ministry had relaxed and I was now content with surrendering something so precious to my God.

 

There are verses of contentment in the Bible, but in my experience contentment is a by-product of faith.  The more I trust my God, the greater my contentment is.  Life is much more enjoyable when we trust God’s plan for our lives rather than try to orchestrate it ourselves.  “The heart of man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps.” (Proverbs 16:9)

Leave a Reply

