WORK

work cropped

WORK-activity involving mental or physical effort done in order to achieve a purpose or result.

 

My Grandpa was a farmer.  Grandpa had milk cows and farmed acres of corn.  When he retired, he had a garden at his house, and helped us with the garden at our house.  Our garden was at least twice as big as his.  My dad is a building contractor and when Grandpa retired from farming he moved to Cedarville to be near us and help my dad at his various jobs.  He would pick up trash or pull weeds or paint.  Whatever “his hand found to do, he did it with all his might…” (Ecclesiastes 9:10).  My Grandpa worked for my dad until they had to take away his license, and then if someone would pick him up and take him to the job; he went and worked.  I remember coming home from school and Grandpa would be out picking weeds in our yard or garden.  I think he did this for a few reasons: he liked to work, he liked to serve, and he liked to be outside.

 

While in Florida for Christmas (2015), we helped my parents and sister (and her family) with the homes they are building.  During one of our conversations my dad, who is 68, told me, “I like to work.”  I wonder where he got that gene from.  I came home yesterday and found our daughter Denise, 17 years old, picking up sticks because we had a big wind storm over the week-end and are getting a big snow storm today.  I did not ask her to do this.  She reminds me of my Grandpa and Dad.  She loves to be outside and work with her hands.  Our other daughters are good workers too, but Denise has a special affinity to working outside.

 

Do young people today have an aversion to work, or is their view of work different than the older generations?  I think the answer is “yes” to both.  Many children growing up today, do not have to help around the house.  Yet, what is this establishing in a child’s mind if they grow up and do not have to work?  As a child, I did not like to weed the garden or mow the grass, but I did it anyway.  Today, I have a sense of satisfaction when a job gets completed, even if it is cleaning up the kitchen after ANOTHER meal.

 

Also, many today put work in a box.  We only do the work we have to, the minimum required.  Once, when I was teaching a preschool class at church, someone told me I did not have to put so much work into my lessons.  I was surprised by this statement.  I was always taught to do my best.  After all, my labor is for my Savior-He is my final Judge.

 

Many verses talk about work: 

Ecclesiastes 9:10 “Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might…”

II Thessalonians 3:10 “…If anyone is not willing to work, let him not eat.”

Proverbs 18:9 “Whoever is slack in his work is a brother to him who destroys.”

I Corinthians 10:31 “Whether therefore you eat or drink, do all to the glory of God.”

 

God does not tell us to only work for pay, rather He tells us to work with all our might for His glory so we are not destructive, otherwise we will or should not eat.  Whatever we do should be to His glory, not matter what job it is.  Whether it’s cleaning toilets, cleaning up after the dog, shoveling snow, or weeding, we are to do all for the glory of God.

Whatever your hands find to do, do it with all your might to the glory of God!

Leave a Reply

