Pride

Pride.  I am reading through the chronological Bible with my daughters and we read Isaiah 14 yesterday.  As I was reading, I was struck between the similarities in Isaiah 14:12-13 and Genesis 3.  I love to see how the Bible works together and continues to teach me new things even though I have spent many years reading and studying it.

Pride.  Isaiah 14:12-13 is a written record by the prophet Isaiah of the fall of Satan.  Satan was created by God as an angel.  His name was Lucifer.  According to Isaiah 14:12-13, “You said in your heart, ‘I will ascend to heaven; above the stars of God, I will set my throne on high; I will sit on the mount of assembly in the far reaches of the north; I will ascend above the heights of the clouds; I will make myself like the Most High.’”  Satan, as an angel created by God, decided that He wanted to have the power and prestige of God so he said he would “make himself like the Most High.”   The errors in thinking abound in this short phrase.

Pride.  “I will make myself like the Most High.”  God did not make Himself, He did not create Himself.  God always has been.  As finite creatures we cannot fully grasp the concept of eternality, no beginning or no end.  It is a concept bigger than our finite minds can process; however, the facts still do not change despite the fact that we cannot understand it:  God is eternal and was not created nor did He create Himself.

Pride.  “I will make myself like the Most High.”  Since Satan is a created being he cannot make himself into an infinite creature.  Since Satan was made by God, he cannot make himself like God.  A pot cannot say to the potter that it wants to make itself into the potter.  We understand the impossibility of this, yet Satan did not see the unachievable quest he was on as he led one-third of the angels to follow him as he attempted “to make himself like the Most High.”

Pride.  In this quest of making himself “like the Most High” Satan became less like the Most High as he fell from the status of perfection in the presence of God and took on the persona of evil.  As we compare this with Genesis 3:5 and the exchange between the serpent and the woman we can see the same trap that Satan fell for. “For God knows that when you eat of it your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil.” (Genesis 3:5).  “You will be like God” and “Make himself like the Most High” are the same thought.  Only in their pride they wanted to be like God, not in their humility.  Satan, in the form of the serpent, used the same words of deceit on the woman that he used on himself.  Neither instance resulted in what they had hoped for, rather their aspirations of being like God turned into them being less like God.

Pride.  The serpent and the woman, once they made their decision to be like God, now had in their make-up, evil.  God is holy and has no evil.  Instead of being more like God they are less like God.  This same trap that the woman fell for is the same trap the Satan uses on us today.  We want to be like God, we want the attention and the glory.  We have placed ourselves as the one to be worshipped, rather than the Creator of the universe.  Nothing has changed over the years.  Pride was the seed that sprouted into Satan’s fall, and pride was the seed in the fall of the woman.  Where has your pride gotten you?  Are you more respected, in a better position, have more wisdom, or “like God” because of your pride?  If I had to choose a person to spend my day with and the choice was between a person that was proud and a person that was humble, I would choose the humble person any day.  I would not want to listen to someone talk about themselves all day.  Pride…where has it gotten you?

Leave a Reply

