Bugs

Bugs, spiders, bees, centipedes, creepy crawlies…Since I have three daughters the chances of one of them not wanting to be near one of the above mentioned creatures is pretty likely. So of course, killing these creatures when they are in the house is a must that must be checked off the bucket list before they leave the house, especially before they have children.

The conversation regarding killing these creatures in the house usually goes something like this…

“There is a bug/spider/centipede that needs to be killed, (daughter who doesn’t want to kill these is informed).”

“No, I don’t want to kill it.” Says daughter

“What are you going to do when you have children?” says Mom

“Call my husband.” Says daughter

“You can’t call your husband because he is at work.” Says Mom

“My children will kill it for me.” Says daughter

“They are babies and you can’t leave it till your husband comes home.” Says Mom

“I don’t know, I just can’t do it.” Says daughter

Imagine my delight a few weeks ago when this lovely young daughter came downstairs, grabbed my hand, and pulled me to her room to show me a dead bee that she had killed. How it got into her room is beyond me, but nonetheless, there on the floor was a dead bee. The spree hasn’t stopped there, she has also killed a spider. I think she is on her way to taking care of those pesky pests in her house.

A few years ago, she called from a nearby home that she was babysitting and told me there was a bat in the house. Those poor children still remember that night. Unfortunately, I had just gotten a bat in our home only a few months before, so now I had become the expert bat exterminator. I don’t expect my children to be able to exterminate all pests before leaving our home, but the average spider, bee, centipede, or house fly all need to be able to find their early demise if they make it into my daughters’ homes. After all, they have to protect my grandchildren.

So the moral of this bucket list story is take care of those pesky creatures that venture into your home, but don’t call me to take care of your bat. They still scare me for some reason, but as the Mom…“a woman has to do what a woman has to do.”

Leave a Reply

