Me? A Job Interview

I went for a job interview this week. I have been looking for a job for about a month now and have had a difficult time finding something that would allow the flexibility I need while continuing to teach our daughters. I stumbled across an advertisement for a nursing job in the local newspaper, sent in my resume, and received a call back. This is so different from anything else I have done in this new phase of looking for a job in 2013. All of the other jobs I applied for were online with no direct personal contact. When I found this advertisement and sent my resume via standard postal mail, I thought this may be a good opportunity. When I received a phone call in response to my resume, I asked some specific questions about what the job would entail and what they were looking for. They asked me the same questions so I was able to tell them I needed something a bit more flexible. I feel honesty is always the best policy.

During the course of our initial phone conversation, I took down names so I would be able to address people as I met them. This first contact and first impression is so important. Letting those with whom you interview see your genuine interest in them as people, as opposed to their ability to get you a job, will actually get you a job much easier. There was some paperwork that needed to be filled out so they sent that to me via postal mail. I received the papers on a Saturday and supplied the needed information so by Monday I was able to call and set up an interview. Timeliness is also important.

As I dressed in my black dress pants and dress blazer, I started to think about other ways to make a lasting impression on those I may be potentially working with or for. I made sure I smiled and was interested in what they had to say. I made sure I had all of my paperwork filled out and turned in to them so there would be no difficulties in processing me if I they hired me.

Some jobs need a person that pays attention to detail, if that is the case make sure you pay attention to details related to the person’s office or things they have said and ask questions about it. In my case I was applying for a nursing job, so listening to what the needs of the patients may be and then asking appropriate questions will show your knowledge and interest level.

As I left, I thanked the lady I interviewed with for this opportunity and told her I was looking forward to working with her. The last thing related to the interview is to send a thank-you note for the opportunity to interview. These are all basic things that are published on many websites, but it is my intent here to consolidate some things needed for the future.

Summary:
1. Send resume or CV the desired route
2. Be sure to be polite and smile even when talking on the phone.
3. Pay attention to details
4. Dress nicely in blue or black.
5. Be ready to answer questions
6. Be sure to say thank-you and follow-up with a thank-you note for the interview.
7. Once hired, be sure you live up to the promises you made or the abilities that you had.
8. Don’t be overly proud or talkative related to your past experience. Let your resume speak for itself, and if they want to know more, they will ask.
9. Be timely. Arrive to the interview early, and always allow extra time in case you get lost.

This is meant to be short summary of that is needed for a job interview. There are many excellent websites that can provide more information related to how to put together your resume, appropriate dress depending on the place you are interviewing, and things you can do to stand out from other interviewees. If you have something you want to add that would be helpful for teens as they move into this phase of their lives, please feel free to comment.

Leave a Reply

